Been mulling getting more seriously (back) into cycling and decided that a road bike (as opposed to my ATB/Utility/Hybrid/Commuter) would be a good idea.  I haven’t had a decent road bike in quite a few years, but all my recent riding has rekindled my interest.

After consulting with a few friends who were like minded souls but also more serious riders, they suggested something like a Specialized Allez or a mid range Trek.  Something comfortable, not too expensive but still a nice bike for some more serious riding.  They strongly suggested a carbon front fork at a minimum.

After looking at a bunch of models and reading lots of reviews, I started to be drawn toward the Specialized Roubaix.  Unfortunately, it was a bit out of my price range– especially the all carbon version.

I tried a few bikes and had a local specialized dealer fit me for a bike.  I tried a couple and a 54cm felt comfortable.  I was actually expecting something more like a 56, so I was a little surprised.

After I got home, I did some eBay surfing and lo and behold– a Specialized Roubaix Comp double (all carbon) in my size was at auction which was closing in about 24 hours.  The bidding was still very low, so i thought, well, the auction ends Sunday morning, so I’ll check in on it then and decide whether to bid on it then.

A number of friends have purchased nice bikes off of eBay and had nothing but good experiences, so I wasn’t particularly concerned about the transaction.  Long story short, I was able to sneak in at the end of the auction and get the bike for what was if not a a steal, at least a very good bargain.  All carbon goodness, and Shimano 105/Ultegra components.

I paid right away and the wonderful seller had the tracking number to me that night.  By Thursday, it had arrived.

Not a picture of the actual bike, but other than the bar tape, its identical.  What a ride.  I’ve got to get pedals and probably a new seat, but I’m looking forward to giving it a shakedown this weekend.

